get me through december…

…so I can start again.

That’s how the song goes, anyway. It’s been a pretty good couple of months in the dog-and-teapot household, with a few hiccups.

On the Teapot front, we have four teeth now, walking > crawling and a *toddler* of 12.5 months.

DSC_0180

Happy birthday to me! Thanks for all the tissue paper, everyone!

On the Dog front… we have a dog who occasionally pees in the new apartment, and we don’t really know why. At first, we chalked it up to unfamiliar surroundings. But we’ve been here for two months now and she still will pee on the carpets if left unattended at night… despite having gone out just a couple of hours before! When I finish up my mat leave/vacation, she’ll be crated during the day anyway… hopefully this doesn’t become a habit. Teapot’s dad likes snuggling with her after I’ve gone to bed, but we might just have to crate her overnight, too.

As for me, work begins again in a couple of weeks. I am strongly in denial about it. Weaning is going slowly… I have officially dropped her second pre-nap feed so I’m only feeding her upon waking for the day and at night… (along with any other middle-of-the-night wakeups). I really hope to avoid any clogs… I’ve had a few over our breastfeeding journey and I do not want to have any more. I remember missing work a lot during the early newborn days. Now I wish we could afford for me to stay home. My current career is not what I want to be doing anyway… it’s just a means to an end. For now.

I remember thinking that I did not want to be Teapot’s mom in the early days and feeling so guilty about it. Looking back, I wish I had been kinder to myself – I was just scared. We got through the first year okay. On to the next.

Leave a Reply

